Xtreme Skater - Free skate ramp plans

Help with Narrow Mini

Talk about ramp building, ask questions

Help with Narrow Mini

Postby dyardy on Thu Nov 27, 2008 1:19 am

Hi i am going to be building a skateboard mini ramp in my garage soon and with not a lot of space and money i just wanted to ask a few questions.

1) To save a bit of money a friend mentioned i could either have just 2 quaterpipes and my concrete floor as the flatbottom or the 2 quarterpipes and instead of making a raised structure using 2x4s just have the surface ply lying on the floor as the flatbottom. Wondering if anyone has used either of these 2 options and some of the pros and cons of both.

2) With limited space available in my garage due to my car having to fit in there, the widest mini i could probably fit would be about 5ft and i know this is very narrow as i have been searching the forum and hardly found a ramp narrower then 8ft so is 5ft even possible? Keep in mind i am fairly new to transition skating so will probably just be sticking to basic lip tricks/stalls for the time being.

Dimensions i am thinking of using are 3'x 5'x 21' with 6' of flatbottom and a transition radius of 7'.

if anyone could shed some advice on those 2 points above or better dimensions for my space it would be appreciated!
dyardy

Re: Help with Narrow Mini

Postby dyardy on Fri Nov 28, 2008 12:28 am

anyone at all? just say something! anything!
dyardy

Postby skatefallsmash1 on Sat Nov 29, 2008 6:05 am

it will work ether way but the flat bottom using wood would only cost like 30 bucks or less depending on how long it is.
skatefallsmash1

Postby dyardy on Sat Nov 29, 2008 12:59 pm

yeah its 6ft of flatbottom so it will be cheaps but i was also wondering if the transition to the flatbottom would be hard to get smooth?
dyardy

Postby Bobby on Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:00 pm

Welcome to the forums dyardy,