Xtreme Skater - Free skate ramp plans

Plywood and Lumber Question? Ask an expert.

Talk about ramp building, ask questions

Plywood and Lumber Question? Ask an expert.

Postby ROYAL on Wed Mar 14, 2012 4:32 pm

I'm a materials consultant at Royal Plywood in Cerritos Ca for 22 years now. I've been working with the skate ramp industry for the last 10 years and have supplied materials for a lot of major project, people and ramp builders in Southern California.What works? What doesn't work? I'll give you the straight answer on anything related to materials needed for you own ramp.Darrell
ROYAL

Re: Plywood and Lumber Question? Ask an expert.

Postby pberube on Wed Feb 27, 2013 3:53 am

Royal, are you still active? I have questions.
pberube

Postby ROYAL on Fri May 17, 2013 12:04 pm

Yes, sorry I didn't respond sooner. I usually get a e-mail notice on this site.
What's up?
ROYAL

Postby makingsk8dreams on Thu Aug 08, 2013 8:42 pm

Royal! Me and a few kids did some fundraising this summer in order to add some new features at our rundown park from 00'. We did some good work and have $900 in the bank right now. We've got one three foot flat bank at the end of a 50'x90'ft slab. I want to add a pyramid bank ramp and a quarter pipe to complete the flow line. The city is matching our funds, but our budget doesnt call for 12 chunks of skatelite. I built a test ramp with a 1/4" plywood topsheet watersealed on the bottom side and marine varnished on the topside. My hopes were that the marine varnish would toughen up the plywood, but after a week of testing I put a dent in the plywood. Got any ideas I haven't thought of yet? We in Babbitt, MN would be Stoked!
makingsk8dreams

Postby ROYAL on Fri Feb 21, 2014 3:43 pm

Buddy, I'm so sorry for the late response. This forum site is suppose to e-mail me when someone posts.